Raise the ceiling of ESI and EPF and also increase Minimum Pension  – BMS demands the Labour Minister

Raise the ceiling of ESI and EPF and also increase Minimum Pension – BMS demands the Labour Minister

A delegation of All India functionaries of BMS called upon the Minister of Labour & Employment Sh. Mansukh Mandaviya demanded to double the ceiling of ESI and EPF eligibility. The current ceilings were too low and not in tune with the rise of income and prices. Further enhancement will also widen the coverage of the schemes to a large section of workers. The BMS leadership also demanded early implementation of the Code on Wages – 2019 and Social Security 2020. These two codes are historic and revolutionary as far as the common workers are concerned. The Code on Wages will confer minimum wages up to the last worker in the country. The Code on Social Security provides many social security benefits to the world of work including 43 crores of unorganized workers. These two codes are big steps towards the universalisation of labour welfare benefits. The other two codes namely Industrial Relations Code and Occupational Safety and Health Code contain many anti-worker provisions which need to be changed. The OSH code also advances very much on safety and health concerns of workers but the threshold limit prescribed in the code limits the benefits so provided. BMS also demanded detailed consultations with all trade unions on labour codes and to implement the codes at the earliest rectifying the defects. The delegation also convinced the minister of the need for urgent reforms in the Employee’s State Insurance Scheme, improving hospital facilities, and providing health benefits through empanelled hospitals. BMS delegation requested the Minister to increase the Minimum Pension from Rs1000/ to Rs 5000/ along with VDA and link it with Ayushman Bharath Yojana. The delegation also discussed various other issues concerning labour. The minister responded positively, the ministry would work on the demands and said the government is inclined to the cause of workers. The delegation comprised President Hiranmay Pandya, General Secretary Ravindra Himte, Former President Saji Narayanan, Former General Secretary Virjesh Upadhyay, Organising Secretary B. Surendran, Deputy Organising Secretary Ganesh Mishra, Contract Labour Board Chairman Surendra Pandey and ESIC member S. Durairaj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *